Uh oh… your teenager just got a minor in possession ticket. What happens now? That will largely depend on the details. These are a few of the consequences that might be felt by your driving and/or college age adolescent.
The State now treats underage marijuana and alcohol use similarly. And, although there are slight differences in the way you prove intoxication with marijuana and alcohol, most Colorado universities and colleges view them under the same category.
How will my child’s college treat an MIP?
Denver University, Colorado University (Boulder and Denver), and Colorado State University all have similar policies on underage alcohol use. The possession, use, manufacturing, or distribution of alcohol by a minor will result in penalties to anyone found breaking the policy. The consequences of breaking this rule, which is also a law, will have repercussions at school and possibly in criminal court. Prosecutors love these types of cases because they don’t have to prove why alcohol was present, they only have to prove that it was there.
Depending on the school and the details surrounding the event, your student may be required to complete drug/ alcohol abuse classes or complete extra assignments. Parent/ guardian notification is on this list, as well. If an infraction is serious enough or a repeat offense, schools can hand down harsher punishments like probation, suspension, or expulsion.
How will and MIP affect my teen’s driving privileges?
One part of the fallout of an MIP for underage drivers can be the loss of driving privileges. The Colorado Department of Revenue controls driver’s license suspensions and will revoke a minor’s license if they are convicted of a MIP. For the first conviction, the license will not be suspended unless the court-ordered community service is not completed. For a second MIP conviction, a driver will lose their license for 6 months. If a third MIP happens, a 12 month suspension will be required, among other things.