A Pennsylvania motorist was stopped at a DUI checkpoint around 4 a.m., and a 19-year-old state trooper asked to see the driver’s license, registration and insurance.
A typical DUI stop on the outside becomes anything but upon the arrival of actual police officers.
The 19-year-old was impersonating a police officer, even going as far as parking his vehicle diagonally across the road and lighting the road with flares. He was also drunk. When the real boys in blue arrived, he passed a gun – later determined to be a BB gun – to a passenger in his vehicle, saying, “I can’t get caught with this.”
He was charged with drunk driving, impersonating a public servant and unlawful restraint.
Underage DUI Conviction
If a minor in Colorado is convicted of a first-time DUI or DWAI with a BAC between .02 and .05 percent, he or she will lose their license for three months automatically. Above .05 percent will result in typical adult punishments; imprisonment for up to one year, fines up to $1,000 and license revocation.
You might also face the risk of ancillary DUI charges, such as distribution of alcohol to other minors, minor in possession, soliciting alcohol, child endangerment, possession of a false ID and moving and vehicle maintenance violations. Your car insurance rate will also increase, assuming your insurance provider does not terminate your coverage outright.
If you are charged with an underage DUI and are in need of legal services, speak to a DUI attorney. Our attorney Jake Johnson describes below what you can expect when you call an attorney for a free consultation:
DUI Matters – Denver Drunk Driving Lawyers